Osteoarthritis Initiative
Osteoarthritis Initiative (OAI)
Longitudinal US cohort of 4,796 adults aged 45 to 79 with or at risk of knee osteoarthritis, with yearly bilateral 3T knee MRI and knee radiographs over up to eight years, clinical data and central image assessments.
Overview
The Osteoarthritis Initiative is an NIH-led, public-private observational study that followed people with or at risk of knee osteoarthritis for more than a decade. Its clinical data and images have been shared since 2004 and now live in the NIMH Data Archive. The imaging is widely used to study cartilage loss and disease progression, to grade radiographic severity, and to train knee MRI segmentation and X-ray grading models.
Composition
The cohort has 4,796 participants, 58% of them women, aged 45 to 79 at enrolment. It is made of three groups: a progression cohort with symptomatic tibiofemoral osteoarthritis (1,389), an incidence cohort without symptomatic disease but with risk factors (3,285), and a small control cohort with neither symptoms, radiographic disease nor risk factors (122). In-clinic visits with imaging took place at baseline and at 12, 24, 36, 48, 72 and 96 months; subsets of the progression cohort had extra knee MRI at 18 or 30 months.
Acquisition
Five US centres ran the study. Each knee was scanned separately at 3T with a sagittal 3D DESS sequence, coronal and sagittal intermediate-weighted turbo spin echo, and, for one knee, a coronal 3D FLASH and a multi-echo spin-echo T2 map. Bilateral fixed-flexion knee radiographs were taken at each imaging visit; pelvis, hand and full-limb radiographs and thigh MRI were added at selected visits.
Annotations
Central groups produced semi-quantitative and quantitative image assessments: Kellgren-Lawrence and OARSI grades and joint space width on radiographs, WORMS, BLOKS or MOAKS scores on MRI, cartilage volume and thickness measurements, and limb alignment angles. These cover subsets of participants and time points.
Known limitations
- Image counts per visit and sequence are not published in an open document, so this page lists only cohort totals.
- Image assessments exist only for selected subsets and visits.
- Access needs an NDA account and a data access request; the data use terms forbid passing on subject-level data.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 4,796 subjects.
Sex
- Female 2,780 100%
Covers 2,780 of 4,796 subjects.
Condition
subjects, values can overlap
- Knee osteoarthritis 1,389 29%
- Healthy control 122 3%
Anatomy
subjects
- Knee 4,796 100%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
Create an account and accept terms online
NIMH Data Archive Data Use Terms and Conditions (Data Use Certification)
Terms every NIMH Data Archive data access request accepts. Data are for research, scholarship or teaching; they may only be shared with collaborators who hold their own access; re-identification is forbidden; each publication needs an NDA Study linked to the data and an acknowledgement; downloaded data must be deleted when the research ends or after the one-year access period.
OAI data are requested through the NDA permission group "Osteoarthritis Initiative", whose requests "do not require Institutional sponsorship and will be approved immediately upon submission" (https://nda.nih.gov/api/nda/setup/permission-groups). The NDA web app shows the general NDA Terms of Data Use at that step; the OAI-specific request page needs a login and could not be read.
What you can do
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Conditional
- Conditional
What you can share
- No
- Conditional
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Yes
- Share alike No
- Yes
- Conditional
- Manuscript review No
- No
- Yes
- Yes
Limits
- Yes
- Location limits No
Citation
Acknowledge the Osteoarthritis Initiative and the NIMH Data Archive as described in the NDA manuscript preparation guidance (https://nda.nih.gov/get/manuscript-preparation.html).
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total | 4,796 | niams-oai-page Cohort section |
| Subjects | sex=female 58% female, rounded | ~2,780 | niams-oai-page Cohort section |
| Subjects | condition=knee_osteoarthritis Progression cohort: symptomatic tibiofemoral knee OA at baseline | 1,389 | nda-oai-study-details Study protocol section |
| Subjects | condition=healthy Control cohort: no symptoms, no radiographic OA, no risk factors | 122 | nda-oai-study-details Study protocol section |
| Subjects | anatomy=knee Bilateral knee MRI and radiographs at in-clinic visits | 4,796 | niams-oai-page Cohort section |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- niams-oai-page NIAMS Osteoarthritis Initiative page (cohort and visits) website
- nda-oai-study-details NDA OAI pages "Study details" and "Image acquisitions" website