HCP-Development (Lifespan 2.0)
Lifespan Human Connectome Project in Development, Lifespan 2.0 Release
Multimodal 3T MRI of 652 healthy children, adolescents and young adults aged 5 to 21 from four US sites: T1w and T2w structural, resting-state and task fMRI, two-shell diffusion and multi-delay ASL, with behavioral data, shared through the NIMH Data Archive.
Overview
HCP-Development is the youth arm of the Lifespan Human Connectome Project. It applies the imaging and data-sharing approach of the HCP Young Adult study to healthy children, adolescents and young adults aged 5 to 21, to map how brain connectivity changes during development. The study planned more than 1300 participants, most scanned once and about 240 followed over three visits around puberty. The Lifespan 2.0 Release (February 2021) is the current release on the NIMH Data Archive and replaced Release 1.0 (May 2019).
Composition
The release holds the first visit of 652 healthy participants aged 5 to 21, 351 female and 301 male. Every participant has T1w, T2w and resting-state fMRI; 647 also have task fMRI, 643 have diffusion data and 627 have ASL. Behavioral and biomeasure data, including NIH Toolbox measures for most participants, come with the imaging. The download is more than 22 TB. Longitudinal visits are not part of this release.
Acquisition
Scans were acquired at four US sites on Siemens 3T Prisma scanners with one shared protocol, the same as in HCP-Aging. Participants aged 8 and older used the standard 32-channel head coil; 5 to 7 year olds used a pediatric 32-channel coil. Structural T1w and T2w scans are 0.8 mm isotropic with real-time motion correction by volumetric navigators. Resting-state fMRI lasts 26 minutes in four runs, shortened to 21 minutes for the youngest children. Three fMRI tasks probe reward (guessing), inhibitory control (CARIT) and emotion processing. Diffusion covers 185 directions on two shells (b = 1500 and 3000 s/mm2). Perfusion uses multi-delay 2D PCASL. Data are provided unprocessed and after the HCP pipelines, in NIfTI and CIFTI files.
Annotations
No manual labels. Derived products include FreeSurfer surfaces, MSMAll-aligned and noise-cleaned fMRI, and per subject completeness and QC issue codes.
Access
Access goes through an NDA Data Use Certification signed by an institutional official, reviewed by the same NIH committee that grants ABCD and HCP-Aging access, and renewed every year.
Known limitations
- Only typically developing volunteers; no clinical contrasts such as FLAIR or SWI.
- The release is cross-sectional; the planned longitudinal visits are not included.
- Scan duration and head coil differ for the youngest children, which matters when comparing across ages.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 652 subjects.
Sex
- Female 351 54%
- Male 301 46%
Age
mean 14.4 ยท range 5 to 21Contrast combinations
How many subjects have exactly each set of contrasts.
| T1w | T2w | dwi | bold | asl | Subjects with exactly this set |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
625 | |||||
18 |
Contrast / sequence
subjects, values can overlap
- T1-weighted 652 100%
- T2-weighted 652 100%
- BOLD fMRI 652 100%
- Diffusion-weighted 643 99%
- Arterial spin labeling 627 96%
Condition
subjects, values can overlap
- Healthy control 652 100%
Scanner vendor
subjects
- Siemens Healthineers 652 100%
Field strength
subjects
- 3 T 652 100%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
A research proposal is reviewed and approved
NIMH Data Archive Data Use Terms and Conditions (Data Use Certification)
Terms every NIMH Data Archive data access request accepts. Data are for research, scholarship or teaching; they may only be shared with collaborators who hold their own access; re-identification is forbidden; each publication needs an NDA Study linked to the data and an acknowledgement; downloaded data must be deleted when the research ends or after the one-year access period.
The HCP-D data use terms page points to the NDA Data Use Certification. Access is granted by the NIH permissions committee that also handles ABCD and HCP-Aging data; the certification must be signed by an authorized institutional official and is renewed yearly. Study-specific clauses of that permission group are not broken down here.
What you can do
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Conditional
- Conditional
What you can share
- No
- Conditional
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Yes
- Share alike No
- Yes
- Conditional
- Manuscript review No
- No
- Yes
- Yes
Limits
- Yes
- Location limits No
Citation
Somerville LH, Bookheimer SY, Buckner RL, Burgess GC, Curtiss SW, Dapretto M, et al. The Lifespan Human Connectome Project in Development: A large-scale study of brain connectivity development in 5-21 year olds. NeuroImage 183:456-468 (2018). doi:10.1016/j.neuroimage.2018.08.050
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total healthy participants with visit 1 data | 652 | hcp-development-releases HCP-Development Lifespan 2.0 Release |
| Subjects | condition=healthy | 652 | hcp-development-releases HCP-Development Lifespan 2.0 Release |
| Subjects | field_strength=3 all scanning on Siemens 3T Prisma | 652 | harms2018 MRI hardware |
| Subjects | vendor=siemens | 652 | harms2018 MRI hardware |
| Subjects | sex=female | 351 | hcd-completeness sex |
| Subjects | sex=male | 301 | hcd-completeness sex |
| Subjects | age=5-9 age in months converted to completed years | 111 | hcd-completeness interview_age |
| Subjects | age=10-14 | 266 | hcd-completeness interview_age |
| Subjects | age=15-19 | 190 | hcd-completeness interview_age |
| Subjects | age=20-21 | 85 | hcd-completeness interview_age |
| Mean age | total | 14.4 | hcd-completeness interview_age |
| Minimum age | total "ages 5-21" | 5 | hcp-development-releases HCP-Development Lifespan 2.0 Release |
| Maximum age | total "ages 5-21" | 21 | hcp-development-releases HCP-Development Lifespan 2.0 Release |
| Subjects | contrast=T1w | 652 | hcd-completeness T1_Count |
| Subjects | contrast=T2w | 652 | hcd-completeness T2_Count |
| Subjects | contrast=bold all have resting-state fMRI, 647 also have task fMRI | 652 | hcd-completeness RS-fMRI_Count, tMRI_PctCompl |
| Subjects | contrast=dwi any diffusion data (632 with the full protocol) | 643 | hcd-completeness dMRI_PctCompl |
| Subjects | contrast=asl | 627 | hcd-completeness PCASL_PctCompl |
| Subjects | contrast_set=asl+bold+dwi+T1w+T2w | 625 | hcd-completeness T1_Count, T2_Count, RS-fMRI_Count, tMRI_PctCompl, dMRI_PctCompl, PCASL_PctCompl |
| Subjects | contrast_set=bold+dwi+T1w+T2w combinations with fewer than 10 subjects are left out | 18 | hcd-completeness T1_Count, T2_Count, RS-fMRI_Count, tMRI_PctCompl, dMRI_PctCompl, PCASL_PctCompl |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- somerville2018 Somerville et al. 2018, The Lifespan Human Connectome Project in Development, NeuroImage (PMC6416053) paper
- harms2018 Harms et al. 2018, Extending the Human Connectome Project across ages, NeuroImage (PMC6484842) paper
- hcp-development-releases HCP-Development data releases page website
- hcd-completeness HCP-Development Lifespan 2.0 subject completeness CSV (public download from humanconnectome.org, whose footer states that all information on the site is in the public domain), one row per released subject computed