SHIVA cohort
RHU SHIVA cohort: stopping cognitive decline and dementia by fighting covert cerebral small vessel disease
Ongoing French cohort of adults over 60 with extensive or minimal white matter hyperintensities, built to find imaging and circulating biomarkers of cerebral small vessel disease. 150 enrolled by March 2024, 3 T Siemens Prisma MRI with T2*-GRE and optional SWI. Not public.
Overview
The SHIVA cohort is the clinical cohort of RHU SHIVA, a French research programme led from the University of Bordeaux and Bordeaux University Hospital that studies cerebral small vessel disease, a major cause of stroke and of cognitive decline. The cohort collects imaging and circulating biomarkers in older people with and without extensive small vessel disease, to build diagnostic and risk prediction tools. It is registered as NCT05306834 and started in November 2022. SHIVA-CMB (Tsuchida et al. 2024) used part of it as an unseen test set for microbleed segmentation.
Composition
Participants are over 60 and have either extensive white matter hyperintensities (Fazekas 2 or 3) or very few (Fazekas 0 or 1). The registry limits age to 60 to 88 and lists a cognitive complaint with MMSE of at least 20 and arterial hypertension among the inclusion criteria, except for extensive-disease patients enrolled from the LEOPOLD trial. As of March 2024, 150 participants had been enrolled; the registry gives a target of 400. The SHIVA-CMB test set holds 14 of them, 8 with extensive and 6 without extensive white matter hyperintensities.
Acquisition
MRI is done on 3 T Siemens Prisma scanners in Bordeaux and Paris and always includes a T2*-weighted gradient echo (TR 872 ms, TE 20 ms, flip angle 20 degrees, 1.0 x 1.0 x 2.5 mm). SWI is optional (TR 24 ms, TE 17.1 ms, flip angle 15 degrees, 0.8 x 0.8 x 3.0 mm). Other sequences and the clinical and blood data collected are not described in a public source found for this entry.
Annotations
For the 14 SHIVA-CMB test participants, two expert raters reviewed and corrected microbleed candidates proposed by an earlier version of the model, on both SWI and T2*-GRE. They report 112 microbleeds on SWI and 108 on T2*-GRE.
Known limitations
- Not public. Requests go to the PI, no terms are published, and the trial registry states no plan to share individual data.
- Recruitment is ongoing, so the counts here are a March 2024 snapshot.
- Only the 14-participant microbleed test set is described in detail.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 150 subjects.
Contrast / sequence
subjects, values can overlap
- T2*-weighted 150 100%
- Susceptibility-weighted 14 9%
Scanner vendor
subjects
- Siemens Healthineers 150 100%
Field strength
subjects
- 3 T 150 100%
Country
subjects
- France 150 100%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
Ask the authors or the data holder. No published process or terms, and access is at their discretion
No published license or data use terms
The data holder has published no license and no data use terms. Any use, sharing or commercial right has to be agreed with the data holder, and nothing can be assumed to be allowed. Default copyright and data protection law still apply.
The SHIVA-CMB data availability statement says the cohort is not public because of French rules on sharing medical images, and that de-identified data may be available on request to the PI, Stéphanie Debette. The ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT05306834 states no plan to share individual participant data. No terms are published.
What you can do
- Commercial use Not stated
- Train ML models Not stated
- Create derived data Not stated
- Publish results Not stated
What you can share
- Share the data Not stated
- Share derived data Not stated
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Cite or credit Not stated
- Share alike Not stated
- Sign an agreement Not stated
- Ethics approval Not stated
- Manuscript review Not stated
- Release code Not stated
- Return results Not stated
- Delete after use Not stated
Limits
- No re-identification Not stated
- Location limits Not stated
Citation
Tsuchida A, Goubet M, Boutinaud P, et al. SHIVA-CMB: a deep-learning-based robust cerebral microbleed segmentation tool trained on multi-source T2*GRE- and susceptibility-weighted MRI. Scientific Reports 14, 30901 (2024). doi:10.1038/s41598-024-81870-5
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total enrolled as of March 2024; recruitment is ongoing and the registry gives an estimated enrolment of 400 | 150 | tsuchida2024 Methods, Datasets, SHIVA |
| Subjects | contrast=T2starw every MRI session included a T2*-GRE | 150 | tsuchida2024 Methods, Datasets, SHIVA |
| Subjects | contrast=swi SWI was optional; 14 participants with both SWI and T2*-GRE were used in SHIVA-CMB and the total with SWI is not reported | 14 | tsuchida2024 Methods, Datasets, SHIVA |
| Subjects | vendor=siemens 3 T Siemens Prisma scanners in Bordeaux or Paris | 150 | tsuchida2024 Methods, Datasets, SHIVA |
| Subjects | field_strength=3 | 150 | tsuchida2024 Methods, Datasets, SHIVA |
| Subjects | country=FR | 150 | tsuchida2024 Methods, Datasets, SHIVA |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- tsuchida2024 Tsuchida et al. 2024, SHIVA-CMB, Scientific Reports (PMC11680838) paper
- nct05306834 ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05306834, SHIVA study record website
- rhu-shiva-home RHU SHIVA project website website