OASIS-3
OASIS-3: Longitudinal Multimodal Neuroimaging, Clinical, and Cognitive Dataset for Normal Aging and Alzheimer Disease
Retrospective longitudinal collection from the WUSTL Knight ADRC with MRI, amyloid, FDG and tau PET and CT for about 1,378 cognitively normal and cognitively declining adults aged 42 to 95, with clinical and cognitive data.
Overview
OASIS-3 is the third release of the Open Access Series of Imaging Studies. It gathers about three decades of research imaging and clinical follow-up from several studies run at the Knight Alzheimer Disease Research Center of Washington University in St. Louis, and is used for work on normal ageing, preclinical Alzheimer's disease and the link between amyloid, tau, brain structure and cognition.
Composition
The current release lists 1,378 participants: 755 cognitively normal adults and 622 with some degree of cognitive decline, aged 42 to 95. Many were followed for years, giving 2,842 MR sessions, 2,157 PET sessions with PiB, florbetapir (AV45) or FDG, and 1,472 CT sessions. A separately requested sub-project, OASIS-3_AV1451, adds 451 tau PET sessions. Clinical Dementia Rating, neuropsychological tests, UDS forms and other clinical data come with the images. Identifiers were replaced and all dates are expressed as days since study entry.
Acquisition
All MRI was acquired on Siemens systems: a 1.5 T Vision, two 3 T TIM Trio scanners and a 3 T Biograph mMR PET-MR. Sequences include T1w, T2w, FLAIR, ASL, SWI, time-of-flight angiography, resting-state BOLD and diffusion. SWI, meant for spotting microhaemorrhages, comes as magnitude, phase, minimum intensity projection and combined SWI images; the data dictionary lists 1,231 SWI scans, almost all at 3 T and from the 2018 release. T2star is listed as a scan type, but no count is published. PET was done on an ECAT HR+, a Biograph 40 PET/CT and the Biograph mMR. Images are converted to NIfTI with dcm2niix and organised in BIDS, with acquisition parameters in JSON sidecars.
Annotations
No manual labels. Many MR sessions include FreeSurfer segmentations and cortical measures, and PET sessions come with regional outputs of the PET Unified Pipeline (PUP); amyloid Centiloid values are also provided.
Known limitations
- Data come from several studies with different visit schedules, so follow-up length and the set of scans vary by participant.
- Scanners changed over the years (1.5 T to 3 T, PET-only to PET-MR), which affects longitudinal comparisons.
- The data descriptor preprint describes an earlier, smaller release (1,098 participants); the website gives slightly different totals for the current release (1,378 in the text, 1,379 in the counter).
- The sex and age distribution of the current release is not published on the website.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 1,378 subjects.
Modality
studies
- MRI 2,842
- PET 2,157
- CT 1,472
Contrast / sequence
scans, values can overlap
- Susceptibility-weighted 1,231
PET tracer
studies
- [18F]flortaucipir 451
Condition
subjects, values can overlap
- Healthy control 755 55%
- Cognitive impairment 622 45%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
A research proposal is reviewed and approved
OASIS Data Use Agreement
Non-commercial academic research only, after an application reviewed by OASIS staff. No sharing with anyone, collaborators included, without written permission; data must be destroyed or returned when the research ends. Publications must acknowledge OASIS, and work using AV45 or AV1451 PET must go to Avid Radiopharmaceuticals for review 30 days in advance.
The tau PET sub-project OASIS-3_AV1451 needs a separate data request.
What you can do
- No
- Not stated
- Conditional
- Conditional
What you can share
- No
- Not stated
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Yes
- Share alike No
- Yes
- Ethics approval No
- Conditional
- Release code No
- No
- Yes
Limits
- Yes
- No
Commercial license: Conditional Commercial use needs explicit, prior written authorization from OASIS. No commercial license offer is published.
Citation
LaMontagne PJ, Benzinger TLS, Morris JC, et al. OASIS-3: Longitudinal Neuroimaging, Clinical, and Cognitive Dataset for Normal Aging and Alzheimer Disease. medRxiv (2019). doi:10.1101/2019.12.13.19014902
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total summary text says 1378 participants; the counter on the same page shows 1379 | 1,378 | oasis3-page |
| Subjects | condition=healthy cognitively normal adults | 755 | oasis3-page |
| Subjects | condition=cognitive_impairment "individuals at various stages of cognitive decline" | 622 | oasis3-page |
| Studies | modality=MR MR sessions | 2,842 | oasis3-page |
| Studies | modality=PT PET sessions (PIB, AV45 and FDG); the 451 tau PET sessions are counted separately | 2,157 | oasis3-page |
| Studies | modality=CT CT sessions | 1,472 | oasis3-page |
| Studies | tracer=flortaucipir tau PET sessions in sub-project OASIS-3_AV1451 | 451 | oasis3-page |
| Minimum age | total age range given for all participants | 42 | oasis3-page |
| Maximum age | total | 95 | oasis3-page |
| Studies | contrast=swi MR sessions with SWI in the earlier release described by the preprint (2168 MR sessions, 1098 participants): 2 at 1.5 T and 1217 at 3 T | 1,219 | lamontagne2019 Table 3 |
| Scans | contrast=swi sum of the three disjoint rows of the scan type inventory: 2 at 1.5 T, 1217 at 3 T in the 2018 release and 12 at 3 T in the 2022 release | 1,231 | oasis3-data-dictionary Table 4 (p. 12) |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- oasis3-page OASIS-3 page, OASIS Brains website website
- lamontagne2019 LaMontagne et al. 2019, OASIS-3 data descriptor (medRxiv preprint, describes an earlier release of 1098 participants) paper
- oasis3-data-dictionary OASIS-3 Imaging Methods and Data Dictionary, version 2.3 (data release 2.0, July 2022) website