Skip to content
MRI Brain

JHU Acute Stroke MRI

Annotated Clinical MRIs and Linked Metadata of Patients with Acute Stroke, Baltimore, Maryland, 2009-2019

Clinical brain MRI of patients admitted with acute stroke, with manual lesion masks and clinical metadata, released so tools can be trained and tested on real clinical scans. 2,888 patients from the Johns Hopkins stroke center, 2009 to 2019, in BIDS. Restricted-use at ICPSR.

Overview

This collection holds routine clinical brain MRI of patients admitted with acute stroke to the Johns Hopkins Comprehensive Stroke Center in Baltimore between 2009 and 2019. Its creators released it so that segmentation, mapping and scoring tools can be trained and tested on real clinical scans rather than uniform research protocols. It is archived at ICPSR as a restricted-use collection.

Composition

There are 2,888 patients, one MRI each, aged 18 to 99 (mean 62.2), 1,527 men and 1,361 women. The largest racial group is African American (43.5%). By radiological appearance, 1,878 lesions are ischemic, 540 show any bleeding (including hemorrhagic transformation and extra-parenchymal blood) and 470 are not visible on imaging, mostly transient ischemic attacks or very small strokes. Every patient has DWI with ADC. Most also have FLAIR (2,746), T2 (2,581), SWI (2,106) and T1-weighted images, either conventional (2,373) or MPRAGE (1,298); 531 have perfusion images of usable quality. Per-patient metadata include NIHSS, stroke type, 90-day modified Rankin score for part of the cohort, hospital stay, blood tests, blood pressure, BMI, prior conditions and medication.

Acquisition

Scans come from 11 scanners over ten years, 1,766 at 1.5T and 1,122 at 3T, mostly Siemens with some GE and Philips systems. Most were done 6 or more hours after symptom onset, and 43% after acute treatment. DWI has about 1 mm in-plane resolution with 2 to 7 mm slices. DICOM files were converted to NIfTI with dcm2niix in a BIDS layout, and images with full head coverage were defaced. DWI, B0, ADC and the masks are also provided in MNI space, together with intensity-normalized DWI, lesion frequency maps and average DWI templates.

Annotations

Two experienced tracers outlined lesions on DWI and ADC in ROIEditor, using other contrasts to exclude chronic or white matter lesions. A neuroradiologist reviewed every mask, and cases were redrawn until tracers and reviewer agreed. Intraventricular and subarachnoid blood was not traced. On 220 cases traced twice, inter-rater Dice was 0.68 and intra-rater Dice 0.72. Brain masks come from a U-Net trained on corrected level-set masks.

Known limitations

  • Single center, with more Black and fewer Hispanic and Asian patients than many urban stroke centers.
  • Protocols vary widely across scanners and years, and slice thickness is clinical.
  • Lesion type is a radiological label and does not always match the clinical diagnosis.
  • Paper and table differ on the scanner vendor split, so no per-vendor counts are given here.

Cohort

Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 2,888 subjects.

Age

mean 62.2 ± 14.7, median 62, range 18 to 99

No age bins reported.

Methods, Cohort, Table 1 in Liu et al. 2023, A large public dataset of annotated clinical MRIs and metadata of patients with acute stroke (Scientific Data)

Contrast / sequence

Groups can overlap

  • Diffusion-weighted 2,888 100%
  • FLAIR 2,746 95%
  • T2-weighted 2,581 89%
  • Susceptibility-weighted 2,106 73%

Methods, Cohort, Methods, MRIs in Liu et al. 2023, A large public dataset of annotated clinical MRIs and metadata of patients with acute stroke (Scientific Data)

License and access

Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer

Access
Application

A research proposal is reviewed and approved

Restricted-use collection at ICPSR. Requests need a Restricted Data Use Agreement, the reason for the request, and IRB approval or a notice of exemption.

Access page

ICPSR Terms of Use and Restricted Data Use Agreement for ICPSR 38464

Restricted-use data. Access needs a Restricted Data Use Agreement, a stated reason for the request and IRB approval or an exemption notice. The ICPSR terms limit use to research or statistics, forbid re-identification and redistribution without ICPSR's written agreement, and require citing the data and reporting publications to ICPSR.

Original license text Version read: ICPSR terms of use for study 38464 and the study's Restrictions statement, as archived on 21 February 2026 (study version V6, 2025-10-08). The Restricted Data Use Agreement itself is not public and was not read. Checked 2026-10-08

What you can do

  • Not stated
  • Not stated
  • Not stated
  • Create derived data Not stated
  • Conditional

What you can share

  • No
  • Not stated
  • Share trained models Not stated

What you must do

  • Yes
  • Conditional
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Not stated
  • Not stated
  • Conditional
  • Conditional

Limits

  • Yes
  • Conditional

Commercial license: Not stated

Citation

Liu CF, Leigh R, Johnson B, et al. A large public dataset of annotated clinical MRIs and metadata of patients with acute stroke. Scientific Data 10, 548 (2023). doi:10.1038/s41597-023-02457-9. Faria AV. Annotated Clinical MRIs and Linked Metadata of Patients with Acute Stroke, Baltimore, Maryland, 2009-2019. ICPSR (2025-10-08). doi:10.3886/ICPSR38464.v6

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these documents. Each chart names the table or page it is taken from. The raw numbers are in stats.csv.