Insight 46
Insight 46: neuroscience sub-study of the MRC National Survey of Health and Development (1946 British birth cohort)
Longitudinal PET-MRI sub-study of 502 members of the 1946 British birth cohort, scanned around age 70 and again two years later on one 3 T PET/MR, with amyloid PET, structural, susceptibility, diffusion and perfusion MRI and life course data. Access by application to NSHD.
Overview
Insight 46 is a neuroimaging sub-study of the MRC National Survey of Health and Development (NSHD), the cohort born in England, Scotland and Wales in one week of March 1946. Because all participants are almost the same age and have decades of earlier health, cognitive and social data, it is used to study preclinical Alzheimer's disease, cerebrovascular disease and brain ageing in the general population. The MRC Unit for Lifelong Health and Ageing at UCL manages data access.
Composition
Phase 1 (2015 to 2018) enrolled 502 cohort members (256 male, 246 female), drawn at random from those who had attended the age 60 to 64 clinic and had the required life course data. Median age at the first visit was 70.7 years (range 69.2 to 71.8). 471 completed the PET/MRI scan. Phase 2, about two years later, scanned 369, and 367 have PET and MRI from both phases. Phase 3 started in 2021, opened recruitment to other cohort members and is expected to finish in 2026; by June 2023 it had 111 amyloid and 109 tau PET/MRI scans.
Acquisition
All PET/MRI in phases 1 and 2 used one Siemens Biograph mMR 3 T PET/MR at University College London Hospitals. The protocol has 3D T1-weighted MPRAGE, 3D T2 and 3D FLAIR at 1.1 mm isotropic, resting-state fMRI, multi-shell diffusion, pseudo-continuous ASL and a three-echo 3D gradient echo (0.86 x 0.86 x 1.5 mm) from which T2*-weighted images, T2* maps, SWI and quantitative susceptibility maps are made. Amyloid PET used florbetapir in phases 1 and 2. Phase 3 uses florbetaben for amyloid and MK-6240 for tau, and adds MP2RAGE, multi-delay ASL and IVIM on a separate 3 T Siemens Prisma.
Annotations
No manual image labels are published. The protocol describes visual amyloid PET reads, SUVR, automated brain and hippocampal segmentation, and visual rating plus automated quantification of white matter hyperintensities and microbleeds. The NSHD website lists derived variables such as amyloid status, brain volumes and white matter hyperintensity volume.
Known limitations
- The NSHD enrolled only white singleton births from 1946, so other ages and ethnic groups are not covered.
- Participants were more educated and of higher socioeconomic position than the cohort members not recruited, and had to be fit to travel to London.
- The data are offered through the NSHD variable request process. Whether raw images can be requested is not stated publicly.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 502 subjects.
Sex
- Male 256 51%
- Female 246 49%
Modality
subjects
- PET 471 94%
- MRI 471 94%
PET tracer
subjects
- [18F]florbetapir 471 94%
Scanner vendor
subjects
- Siemens Healthineers 471 94%
Field strength
subjects
- 3 T 471 94%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
A research proposal is reviewed and approved
Unit for Lifelong Health and Ageing at UCL, Framework Data Sharing Agreement (NSHD)
Signed between UCL and the researcher's institution after the NSHD Data Sharing Committee approves a project. Non-commercial research within the approved project only, no passing on without written consent, manuscripts to UCL ten business days before submission, derived data returned to UCL and all data deleted at the end. Processing outside the UK needs to be agreed in the contract.
The NSHD website lists derived Insight 46 variables (amyloid status, brain volumes, white matter hyperintensity volume) as available. Whether raw images can be requested is not stated.
What you can do
- No
- Not stated
- Conditional
- Conditional
What you can share
- No
- No
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Yes
- Share alike No
- Yes
- Conditional
- Yes
- No
- Yes
- Yes
Limits
- Yes
- Conditional
Citation
Lane CA, Parker TD, Cash DM, et al. Study protocol: Insight 46 - a neuroscience sub-study of the MRC National Survey of Health and Development. BMC Neurology 17:75 (2017). doi:10.1186/s12883-017-0846-x. NSHD asks publications to also cite the NSHD dataset DOIs that match the years of data used.
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total phase 1 clinic visit (2015 to 2018); the website gives the same number | 502 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | sex=male phase 1 clinic visit | 256 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | sex=female phase 1 clinic visit | 246 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | modality=PT completed the phase 1 amyloid PET/MRI scan | 471 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | modality=MR completed the phase 1 amyloid PET/MRI scan | 471 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | tracer=florbetapir completed the phase 1 amyloid PET/MRI scan | 471 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | sex=male;modality=PT phase 1 PET/MRI scan | 241 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | sex=female;modality=PT phase 1 PET/MRI scan | 230 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | field_strength=3 phase 1 PET/MRI scan; all imaging on a 3 T Siemens Biograph mMR | 471 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | vendor=siemens phase 1 PET/MRI scan | 471 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Studies | tracer=florbetapir sum of the disjoint phase 1 (471) and phase 2 (369) amyloid PET/MRI scans | 840 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Studies | tracer=florbetaben phase 3 amyloid PET/MRI scans completed as of June 2023; phase 3 is ongoing | 111 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Studies | tracer=mk6240 phase 3 tau PET/MRI scans completed as of June 2023; phase 3 is ongoing | 109 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Median age | total at the phase 1 clinic visit | 70.7 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Minimum age | total at the phase 1 clinic visit | 69.2 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
| Maximum age | total at the phase 1 clinic visit | 71.8 | murraysmith2024 Table 1 |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- murraysmith2024 Murray-Smith H et al. 2024, Updating the study protocol, Insight 46 phases 2 and 3, BMC Neurology paper
- lane2017 Lane CA et al. 2017, Study protocol, Insight 46, BMC Neurology paper
- james2018 James SN et al. 2018, Recruitment and participation rates in Insight 46, BMC Research Notes paper
- skylark-insight46 NSHD Skylark website, Insight 46 page website