CENTER-TBI
Collaborative European NeuroTrauma Effectiveness Research in Traumatic Brain Injury (CENTER-TBI) core study and imaging repository
Head CT for every patient, brain MRI for a subset, clinical data and outcomes from patients with traumatic brain injury of all severities, collected to compare care practices across European centres. 4,509 patients enrolled 2014 to 2017. Access after an approved study plan and data use agreement.
Overview
CENTER-TBI is a European observational study of traumatic brain injury, funded by the EU 7th Framework Programme and run by a consortium coordinated from Antwerp University Hospital. It set out to improve how TBI is characterised and to compare the effectiveness of different care practices across centres. Its core study followed patients of every severity who arrived within 24 hours of injury and needed a CT scan, and stored their images, blood samples and outcomes in central repositories for later research.
Composition
The core study enrolled 4,559 patients between December 2014 and December 2017, and 4,509 were analysed in the 2019 descriptive paper. The project website describes the database as more than 4,500 patients from 65 centres. Patients fall into three care pathways: discharged from the emergency room (848), admitted to a ward (1,523) and admitted to intensive care (2,138). Median age is 50 years, 28% are older than 65, and 67% are male. Outcomes were assessed at 6 months and collected up to 2 years after injury. A separate registry of about 22,800 patients holds administrative data only.
Acquisition
Every patient had a CT scan at presentation, with follow-up CT as clinically indicated. MRI was done in a subset of centres, and the 2019 paper analysed the first 504 early MRI studies (within 3 weeks of injury). The harmonised MRI protocol, mandatory for every MRI patient, has a 3D T1-weighted scan, T2-weighted, FLAIR, DTI and a T2* sequence (gradient echo and/or SWI), with optional resting-state fMRI. Protocol sheets exist for GE, Philips and Siemens scanners. Images were defaced on upload and are hosted by icometrix.
Annotations
All uploaded images were read centrally with structured reporting based on the NINDS common data elements, alongside local reads recorded in the case report form. Reads cover findings such as contusions, subdural and epidural haematoma, subarachnoid haemorrhage and traumatic axonal injury. There are no published voxel-level lesion masks.
Known limitations
- Access requires an approved study plan, a signed data use agreement and Management Committee review of manuscripts; commercial products and redistribution are not allowed.
- MRI covers only part of the cohort, and the total number of MRI patients is not published.
- Centres are mostly referral centres for neurotrauma and children are under-represented.
- Dataset versions differ (Neurobot, then Opal from 2022), so counts can change between versions.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 4,509 subjects.
Sex
- Male 3,022 100%
Covers 3,022 of 4,509 subjects.
Modality
- CT 4,509 100%
- MRI 504 11%
Methods (Neuro-imaging repository), Results (Neuro-imaging repository) in Steyerberg EW et al. 2019, Case-mix, care pathways, and outcomes in CENTER-TBI, Lancet Neurology (accepted manuscript, White Rose eprint 152694)
Age
median 50
Condition
Groups can overlap
- Traumatic brain injury 4,509 100%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
A research proposal is reviewed and approved
CENTER-TBI Terms and Conditions for Use of CENTER-TBI Data
Access after a study plan proposal is approved by the CENTER-TBI Management Committee and a data use agreement is signed with the researcher's institute. No commercial products and no redistribution; data stay within the research team and are used only for the approved study. Manuscripts go to the Management Committee before submission, with the CENTER-TBI group author and funding acknowledgement. The signed data use agreement itself is not published.
What you can do
- No
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Create derived data Not stated
- Conditional
What you can share
- No
- No
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Yes
- Not stated
- Yes
- Yes
- Yes
- Conditional
- No
- Not stated
Limits
- Not stated
- Not stated
Citation
Add "and the CENTER-TBI Participants and Investigators" to the author list and use the funding, ethics and methodology statements in appendix 5 of the CENTER-TBI SOP manual. Study reference: Maas AIR, Menon DK, Steyerberg EW, et al. Collaborative European NeuroTrauma Effectiveness Research in Traumatic Brain Injury (CENTER-TBI): a prospective longitudinal observational study. Neurosurgery 76(1):67-80 (2015). doi:10.1227/NEU.0000000000000575
Sources
Every number on this page comes from one of these documents. Each chart names the table or page it is taken from. The raw numbers are in stats.csv.
- Steyerberg EW et al. 2019, Case-mix, care pathways, and outcomes in CENTER-TBI, Lancet Neurology (accepted manuscript, White Rose eprint 152694) paper
- CENTER-TBI website, Data Access & Publication Requests website
- CENTER-TBI website, MRI Study Protocols (with GE, Philips and Siemens parameter sheets) website
- Maas AIR et al. 2015, CENTER-TBI study protocol, Neurosurgery paper