API Generation Study 2 (GS2)
Alzheimer's Prevention Initiative Generation Study 2, a randomized placebo-controlled trial of umibecestat (CNP520) in cognitively unimpaired APOE4 carriers (NCT03131453)
Brain MRI (safety, volumetric and resting-state functional) and amyloid and tau PET from a prevention trial of the BACE1 inhibitor umibecestat in cognitively unimpaired APOE4 carriers aged 60 to 75. 1145 participants randomized at sites in 25 countries.
Overview
Generation Study 2 was one of the two Alzheimer's Prevention Initiative Generation Program trials run by Banner Alzheimer's Institute with Novartis and Amgen. It tested whether the oral BACE1 inhibitor umibecestat (CNP520) could delay symptom onset in cognitively unimpaired people aged 60 to 75 who carry one or two APOE4 alleles. Dosing started in August 2017 and the trial was stopped early after an interim analysis showed mild cognitive worsening under umibecestat; the registry lists it as terminated in March 2020. Screening and longitudinal clinical data and the trial images are requested through the LONI Image and Data Archive.
Composition
1145 participants were randomized 2:1:2 to umibecestat 50 mg (456), umibecestat 15 mg (233) or placebo (456). APOE4 homozygotes could join regardless of amyloid status, while heterozygotes needed elevated brain amyloid on PET or in CSF. Of the 1144 in the registry's baseline table, 720 are women; 201 were 64 or younger, 425 were 65 to 69 and 518 were 70 or older. Most participants are white, and 95 of the 194 listed sites are in the United States. The trial had planned about 2000 participants.
Acquisition
Brain MRI was done for safety (ARIA and cerebrovascular findings), volumetry and resting-state fMRI, every six months in the first year and yearly afterwards. Amyloid PET was voluntary at baseline unless it was used to establish amyloid status, and tau PET was planned at baseline, year 2 and year 5. Because of the early stop, the registry reports no follow-up amyloid or tau PET. CSF and blood samples were also collected. Scanner models, field strengths, PET tracers and the sequence list are not described in public sources.
Annotations
No image annotations are described. Central MRI reads and derived measures such as brain volumes and amyloid PET SUVR are part of the clinical data.
Known limitations
- Only 1145 of the planned 2000 participants were randomized, and treatment lasted far shorter than the planned five years.
- The structural MRI contrasts are not named in the public sources, so only the resting-state fMRI (BOLD) is listed.
- The Data Transfer Agreement signed after approval is not public, so its terms on commercial use, model training and publication are unknown.
- Generation Study 1 is a separate trial with its own LONI project.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 1,145 subjects.
Sex
- Female 720 63%
- Male 424 37%
Baseline Characteristics in ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT03131453 (GS2) with posted results
Age
Baseline Characteristics in ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT03131453 (GS2) with posted results
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
A research proposal is reviewed and approved
Alzheimer's Prevention Initiative Generation Study 2 (GS2) Data Use Agreement
Access is requested for scientific investigation, teaching or planning clinical research. The request is passed to the Generation Program team, which follows up with further steps, and approved requests need a formally executed Data Transfer Agreement whose terms are not published.
The LONI IDA request is forwarded to the Generation Program team, and approved requests need a signed Data Transfer Agreement whose text is not public. The terms checked here are the ones shown on the LONI IDA application page.
What you can do
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Not stated
What you can share
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Not stated
What you must do
- Not stated
- Share alike No
- Yes
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Release code No
- Not stated
- Not stated
Limits
- Not stated
- Location limits No
Commercial license: Not stated No commercial license offer is published.
Citation
Lopez Lopez C, Tariot PN, Caputo A, et al. The Alzheimer's Prevention Initiative Generation Program: Study design of two randomized controlled trials for individuals at risk for clinical onset of Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's & Dementia: Translational Research & Clinical Interventions 5:216-227 (2019). doi:10.1016/j.trci.2019.02.005
Sources
Every number on this page comes from one of these documents. Each chart names the table or page it is taken from. The raw numbers are in stats.csv.
- Lopez Lopez et al. 2019, The Alzheimer's Prevention Initiative Generation Program: study design of two randomized controlled trials, Alzheimer's & Dementia: TRCI paper
- ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT03131453 (GS2) with posted results website
- Brown et al. 2025, A resource of data and samples in cognitively unimpaired 60-75-year-olds at increased risk of Alzheimer's disease based on their APOE4 status, Alzheimer's & Dementia 21(S1):e107073 paper
- Alzheimer's Prevention Initiative, Generation Program available data website