IMAP+ (Caen)
IMAP+: Imagerie Multimodale de la maladie d'Alzheimer à un stade Précoce (multimodal neuroimaging of early Alzheimer's disease), Caen
Single-centre French cohort of 242 young, middle-aged and older controls and people with subjective cognitive decline, MCI or Alzheimer's disease, scanned with 3 T Philips MRI, FDG-PET and florbetapir amyloid PET at Cyceron, Caen. Shared on request.
Overview
IMAP+ is a research cohort run at the Cyceron imaging centre in Caen, France, sponsored by Caen University Hospital with Inserm. It follows healthy adults and people at different stages of the Alzheimer's clinical continuum with cognitive testing, blood and CSF biomarkers, APOE genotyping, structural and functional MRI, FDG-PET and florbetapir amyloid PET, to find early markers of the disease and track how they change. It is registered as NCT01638949, started in May 2012 and was completed in 2022. It continues the earlier IMAP protocol (NCT01554202, started January 2008), and the group's papers refer to the shared data as IMAP data.
Composition
The registry reports 242 enrolled participants in eight arms: young (18 to 40), middle-aged (40 to 60) and older (over 60) healthy controls, people with subjective cognitive impairment, amnestic MCI, probable Alzheimer's disease (MMSE of at least 15), asymptomatic relatives from families with autosomal dominant mutations, and non-degenerative amnesic syndromes. Participants are French-speaking and right-handed. Arm sizes are not reported. Published analyses use subsets; Moulinet et al. (2022), for example, studied 56 older controls, 35 people with subjective decline, 28 with MCI and 28 with Alzheimer's dementia.
Acquisition
All imaging is done on one MRI and one PET scanner at Cyceron. MRI uses a Philips Achieva 3 T with 3D T1-weighted fast field echo (1 mm slices), 2D T2-weighted spin echo and 3D FLAIR; the registry also lists resting-state and task fMRI. PET uses a GE Discovery RX VCT 64 PET-CT with FDG and florbetapir, each acquired from 50 minutes after injection. The protocol plans repeat imaging after 18 months and, for some groups, 36 months.
Known limitations
- Not public. Requests go to the sponsor and the principal investigator; no terms are published.
- No source found gives cohort-wide counts by group, sex, age or modality. Modality and scanner rows come from analysis subsets and are lower bounds.
- The number of participants from the earlier IMAP protocol, and its overlap with IMAP+, is not reported.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 242 subjects.
Contrast / sequence
subjects, values can overlap
- T1-weighted 142 59%
- T2-weighted 142 59%
- FLAIR 142 59%
PET tracer
subjects
- [18F]FDG 147 61%
- [18F]florbetapir 147 61%
Condition
subjects, values can overlap
- Healthy control 56 23%
- Subjective cognitive decline 35 14%
- Mild cognitive impairment 28 12%
- Alzheimer's disease 28 12%
Scanner vendor
subjects
- Philips 142 59%
- GE HealthCare 142 59%
Field strength
subjects
- 3 T 142 59%
Country
subjects
- France 242 100%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
Ask the authors or the data holder. No published process or terms, and access is at their discretion
No published license or data use terms
The data holder has published no license and no data use terms. Any use, sharing or commercial right has to be agreed with the data holder, and nothing can be assumed to be allowed. Default copyright and data protection law still apply.
Moulinet et al. (2022) state that "IMAP data are made available upon request to the sponsor (Caen University Hospital) and the principal investigator". Garnier-Crussard et al. (2025) state that data are available on reasonable request "pending approval by the study coordinator". No agreement or terms are published.
What you can do
- Commercial use Not stated
- Not stated
- Train ML models Not stated
- Create derived data Not stated
- Publish results Not stated
What you can share
- Share the data Not stated
- Share derived data Not stated
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Cite or credit Not stated
- Share alike Not stated
- Sign an agreement Not stated
- Ethics approval Not stated
- Manuscript review Not stated
- Release code Not stated
- Return results Not stated
- Delete after use Not stated
Limits
- No re-identification Not stated
- Location limits Not stated
Citation
Moulinet I, Touron E, Mézenge F, Dautricourt S, De La Sayette V, Vivien D, Marchant NL, Poisnel G, Chételat G. Depressive symptoms have distinct relationships with neuroimaging biomarkers across the Alzheimer's clinical continuum. Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience 14, 899158 (2022). doi:10.3389/fnagi.2022.899158
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total actual enrolment of IMAP+; participants of the earlier IMAP protocol (NCT01554202) are not counted | 242 | nct01638949 Study Design (Enrollment) |
| Subjects | country=FR imaging at GIP Cyceron in Caen | 242 | nct01638949 Contacts and Locations |
| Subjects | condition=healthy older controls in one analysis subset; the cohort also has young and middle-aged controls, whose number is not reported | 56 | moulinet2022 Table 1 |
| Subjects | condition=scd count in one analysis subset; the cohort total is not reported | 35 | moulinet2022 Table 1 |
| Subjects | condition=mci count in one analysis subset; the cohort total is not reported | 28 | moulinet2022 Materials and Methods, Participants |
| Subjects | condition=alzheimers probable Alzheimer's dementia; count in one analysis subset; the cohort total is not reported | 28 | moulinet2022 Materials and Methods, Participants |
| Subjects | tracer=fdg at least; all 147 participants of this analysis subset had FDG-PET | 147 | moulinet2022 Materials and Methods, Neuroimaging Data and Processing |
| Subjects | tracer=florbetapir at least; all 147 participants of this analysis subset had florbetapir PET | 147 | moulinet2022 Materials and Methods, Neuroimaging Data and Processing |
| Subjects | contrast=T1w at least; 3D T1-weighted FFE in all 142 participants of this analysis subset | 142 | garniercrussard2025 Methods |
| Subjects | contrast=T2w at least; 2D T2-weighted spin echo in all 142 participants of this analysis subset | 142 | garniercrussard2025 Methods |
| Subjects | contrast=FLAIR at least; 3D FLAIR in all 142 participants of this analysis subset | 142 | garniercrussard2025 Methods |
| Subjects | vendor=philips at least; MRI on a Philips Achieva 3 T | 142 | garniercrussard2025 Methods |
| Subjects | field_strength=3 at least; Philips Achieva 3 T | 142 | garniercrussard2025 Methods |
| Subjects | vendor=ge at least; PET on a GE Discovery RX VCT 64 PET-CT | 142 | garniercrussard2025 Methods |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- nct01638949 ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01638949, IMAP+ study record website
- nct01554202 ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01554202, IMAP study record website
- moulinet2022 Moulinet et al. 2022, Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience paper
- garniercrussard2025 Garnier-Crussard et al. 2025, Scientific Reports (PMC12583515) paper