EMERGE and ENGAGE (aducanumab phase 3 trial imaging)
EMERGE (221AD302, NCT02484547) and ENGAGE (221AD301, NCT02477800), two identically designed phase 3 trials of aducanumab in early Alzheimer disease, trial MRI and PET
Serial safety MRI at 1.5 T or 3 T (FLAIR for ARIA-E, T2*-GRE for ARIA-H) of 3285 people with early Alzheimer disease in Biogen's two aducanumab phase 3 trials, with amyloid PET in a substudy. The images are not shared; Biogen does not generally share imaging data.
Overview
EMERGE and ENGAGE are two phase 3 trials that Biogen ran in parallel with the same protocol to test aducanumab, an antibody against aggregated amyloid beta, in early Alzheimer disease. They enrolled at 348 sites in 20 countries from August 2015 to July 2018 and were stopped in March 2019 after a futility analysis. The results paper reports both trials side by side, and the ARIA analysis pools them into one safety data set, so this entry covers both. The trial MRI captures amyloid-related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) that emerge under treatment. The images are not available outside the sponsor.
Composition
3285 people received at least one dose, 1638 in EMERGE and 1647 in ENGAGE. Participants were 50 to 85 years old with confirmed amyloid pathology and either MCI due to Alzheimer disease (2661) or mild Alzheimer dementia. The mean age was 70.4 years and 1706 were women. Each trial randomized participants 1:1:1 to low-dose aducanumab, high-dose aducanumab or placebo, given every four weeks for 76 weeks.
Acquisition
Brain MRI was acquired at 1.5 T or 3 T at screening and then routinely at weeks 14, 22, 30, 42, 54, 66 and 78, with extra scans when clinically indicated and roughly every four weeks after an ARIA episode until it resolved or stabilised. ARIA-E was read on T2 FLAIR and microbleeds and superficial siderosis on gradient echo (T2*) sequences. 3253 participants had at least one post-baseline MRI. Amyloid PET with florbetapir was done in a substudy at sites able to perform it, and a tau PET substudy ran at selected sites.
Annotations
Central radiologists with ARIA expertise read every MRI and graded ARIA-E by the size of the affected regions and ARIA-H by the number of new microbleeds and areas of siderosis. In the 10 mg/kg group (1029 participants) ARIA-E occurred in 362 (35.2%), new microbleeds in 197 (19.1%) and superficial siderosis in 151 (14.7%); 29 of 1076 placebo participants (2.7%) had ARIA-E. Only these reads and adverse event records exist; no image-level labels are published.
Known limitations
- Biogen's Vivli policy says it does not generally share imaging data, so the scans are not available.
- People with more than four microbleeds or any superficial siderosis at baseline were excluded.
- Vendors and sequence parameters are not published in the sources used here.
- The trials were stopped early; 1812 participants (55.2%) completed the study.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 3,285 subjects.
Sex
- Female 1,706 100%
Covers 1,706 of 3,285 subjects.
Age
mean 70.4± 7.45No age bins reported.
Modality
subjects
- MRI 3,253 99%
Condition
subjects, values can overlap
- Alzheimer's disease 3,285 100%
- Mild cognitive impairment 2,661 81%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
The data are not available outside the institution or study that holds them
No published license or data use terms
The data holder has published no license and no data use terms. Any use, sharing or commercial right has to be agreed with the data holder, and nothing can be assumed to be allowed. Default copyright and data protection law still apply.
Biogen's Vivli member page states that "Biogen does not generally share imaging data (e.g. DICOM files of images from x-rays, ultrasounds, MRI scans, etc.)". For tabular data it lists "Biogen-sponsored interventional clinical trials conducted in patients (phase I-IV) for products and indications submitted and approved in both the United States and the European Union", shared after approval of a research proposal and "a Data Use Agreement signed by the lead researcher and institution", and access is declined if "The research proposal's aim is considered commercial or litigious". No terms for the images are published.
What you can do
- Commercial use Not stated
- Train ML models Not stated
- Create derived data Not stated
- Publish results Not stated
What you can share
- Share the data Not stated
- Share derived data Not stated
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Cite or credit Not stated
- Share alike Not stated
- Sign an agreement Not stated
- Ethics approval Not stated
- Manuscript review Not stated
- Release code Not stated
- Return results Not stated
- Delete after use Not stated
Limits
- No re-identification Not stated
- Location limits Not stated
Citation
Budd Haeberlein S, Aisen PS, Barkhof F, et al. Two Randomized Phase 3 Studies of Aducanumab in Early Alzheimer's Disease. J Prev Alzheimers Dis 9(2):197-210 (2022). doi:10.14283/jpad.2022.30
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total safety population: participants with at least one dose in the placebo-controlled period of both trials; the primary paper gives 1638 in EMERGE and 1647 in ENGAGE | 3,285 | salloway2022 Results |
| Subjects | sex=female | 1,706 | salloway2022 Results |
| Subjects | condition=alzheimers all participants had confirmed amyloid pathology and MCI due to Alzheimer disease or mild Alzheimer dementia | 3,285 | buddhaeberlein2022 Abstract (Participants) |
| Subjects | condition=mci MCI due to Alzheimer disease | 2,661 | salloway2022 Results |
| Subjects | modality=MR MRI safety population: participants with at least one post-baseline MRI | 3,253 | salloway2022 Methods (Statistical Analysis) |
| Mean age | total | 70.4 | salloway2022 Results |
| Age SD | total | 7.5 | salloway2022 Results |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- buddhaeberlein2022 Budd Haeberlein et al. 2022, J Prev Alzheimers Dis, EMERGE and ENGAGE primary results paper
- salloway2022 Salloway et al. 2022, JAMA Neurology, ARIA in EMERGE and ENGAGE (PMC8609465), with the trial protocols in Supplement 1 paper
- ctgov-nct02484547 ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT02484547 (EMERGE) website
- ctgov-nct02477800 ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT02477800 (ENGAGE) website
- vivli-biogen Vivli member page, Biogen (data sharing policy) website