Clarity AD (lecanemab phase 3 trial imaging)
Clarity AD, a randomized placebo-controlled phase 3 trial of lecanemab in early Alzheimer disease (NCT03887455), trial MRI
Serial safety MRI at 1.5 T or 3 T (3D T1w, FLAIR, T2*-GRE, T2w, DWI) of 1795 people with early Alzheimer disease in the Eisai and Biogen lecanemab phase 3 trial, centrally read for ARIA. The images are not shared; the safety paper states its data are not available.
Overview
Clarity AD is the phase 3 trial of lecanemab, an anti-amyloid antibody, in early Alzheimer disease. Eisai sponsored it with funding from Biogen. An 18-month double-blind core phase compared lecanemab 10 mg/kg every two weeks with placebo and was followed by an open-label extension. The trial MRI tracks amyloid-related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) under treatment. This entry records what the publications say about that imaging; the images are not available outside the sponsor.
Composition
The core phase included 1795 people, 897 on placebo and 898 on lecanemab; 938 were women. 1107 had mild cognitive impairment due to Alzheimer disease and the rest mild Alzheimer dementia. In the open-label extension, 1612 people received at least one dose of lecanemab.
Acquisition
Non-contrast brain MRI was acquired on 1.5 T or 3 T scanners at screening and at weeks 9, 13, 27, 53 and 79 of the core phase. The standard protocol had a sagittal 3D T1-weighted scan (GE IR-prep fast SPGR, Philips 3D TFE or Siemens MPRAGE) at about 1.25 x 1.25 x 1.2 mm, plus 2D axial FLAIR, T2* gradient echo, T2 turbo spin echo and diffusion scans with 5 mm slices. Clario qualified the scanners and ran ongoing quality control. FLAIR was used for ARIA-E, T2* for ARIA-H and the 3D T1 mainly for brain volume.
Annotations
Scans were read both locally and centrally for ARIA. In the core phase ARIA-E occurred in 113 of 898 lecanemab participants (12.6%) and 15 of 897 on placebo (1.7%); ARIA-H in 152 (16.9%) and 80 (8.9%), with microhemorrhages in 126 and 68 and superficial siderosis in 50 and 21. No image-level labels are published.
Known limitations
- The safety paper states its data are not available, and Eisai's data sharing listing names tabular data and documents, not images.
- People with more than four microhemorrhages or extensive white matter pathology on screening MRI were excluded.
- PET substudies, sites per country and the reader protocol are not described in the sources used here.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 1,795 subjects.
Sex
- Female 938 52%
- Male 857 48%
Condition
subjects, values can overlap
- Alzheimer's disease 1,795 100%
- Mild cognitive impairment 1,107 62%
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
The data are not available outside the institution or study that holds them
No published license or data use terms
The data holder has published no license and no data use terms. Any use, sharing or commercial right has to be agreed with the data holder, and nothing can be assumed to be allowed. Default copyright and data protection law still apply.
The Clarity AD safety paper (Honig et al. 2024) gives as its data availability statement "Not available." Eisai shares anonymized patient-level clinical data through ClinicalStudyDataRequest.com for "products and indications submitted and approved by EMA and FDA, after 1st January 2014"; the items it lists are raw and analysis-ready datasets, protocols, case report forms, analysis plans, dataset specifications and clinical study reports, with no images. Eisai "will not share clinical data ... where agreement to disclosure clinical data is not gained with a co-development/research/marketing/promotion partner for a compound/product" and may decline access "where there is a potential conflict of interest or an actual or potential competitive risk". No terms for the images are published.
What you can do
- Commercial use Not stated
- Train ML models Not stated
- Create derived data Not stated
- Publish results Not stated
What you can share
- Share the data Not stated
- Share derived data Not stated
- Share trained models Not stated
What you must do
- Cite or credit Not stated
- Share alike Not stated
- Sign an agreement Not stated
- Ethics approval Not stated
- Manuscript review Not stated
- Release code Not stated
- Return results Not stated
- Delete after use Not stated
Limits
- No re-identification Not stated
- Location limits Not stated
Citation
van Dyck CH, Swanson CJ, Aisen P, et al. Lecanemab in Early Alzheimer's Disease. N Engl J Med 388(1):9-21 (2023). doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2212948
All numbers
Every number on this page, as stored in stats.csv, with its source.
| Measure | Breakdown | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | total Core double-blind study: 897 placebo and 898 lecanemab | 1,795 | honig2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | sex=female sum of the two Core arms (476 placebo + 462 lecanemab) | 938 | honig2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | sex=male sum of the two Core arms (421 placebo + 436 lecanemab) | 857 | honig2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | condition=alzheimers all Core participants had early Alzheimer disease: MCI due to Alzheimer disease or mild Alzheimer dementia | 1,795 | honig2024 Table 1 |
| Subjects | condition=mci sum of the two Core arms (555 placebo + 552 lecanemab) | 1,107 | honig2024 Table 1 |
Sources
The keys used in the table above.
- honig2024 Honig et al. 2024, Alzheimer's Research & Therapy, updated safety results from Clarity AD (PMC11084061, CC BY 4.0) paper
- vandyck2023 van Dyck et al. 2023, NEJM, Clarity AD primary results paper
- ctgov-nct03887455 ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT03887455 website
- csdr-eisai ClinicalStudyDataRequest.com, sponsor-specific details for Eisai website
- eisai-disclosure Eisai, Clinical Trial Disclosure (data sharing policy) website