ADNI
Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI1, ADNI GO, ADNI2, ADNI3)
Brain MRI, FDG, amyloid and tau PET, biofluids and cognitive testing of older adults followed from normal ageing through mild cognitive impairment to Alzheimer's dementia, to chart how biomarkers change over the course of the disease. Multi-site, US and Canada, since 2004.
Overview
ADNI is a long-running observational study, run like a clinical trial, that tracks how imaging, fluid biomarkers and cognition change from normal ageing through mild cognitive impairment (MCI) to Alzheimer's dementia. It started in 2004 as a public-private partnership led by Michael Weiner. This entry covers the phases ADNI1, ADNI GO, ADNI2 and ADNI3; ADNI4 is ongoing.
Composition
A 2023 review counts 868 cognitively unimpaired participants, 1,090 with MCI and 408 with Alzheimer's dementia enrolled since 2004. Each phase added new people and kept many earlier ones: ADNI1 began with 819 people (229 controls, 398 MCI, 192 AD, mean age about 75), ADNI GO added an early MCI group and ADNI2 added a subjective memory concern group. Most have several imaging sessions. Clinical, cognitive, genetic and CSF/blood biomarker data come with the images.
Acquisition
More than 60 sites in the US and Canada take part, on GE, Philips and Siemens scanners with harmonised protocols. ADNI1 scanned everyone at 1.5 T (T1-weighted and dual-echo PD/T2), a quarter also at 3 T. From ADNI GO on, imaging moved to 3 T and added FLAIR and an axial T2*-weighted gradient echo (GRE) for microbleeds (ADNI3: 0.85 x 0.85 x 4 mm, TE 20 ms; a 3-echo version on Siemens). Diffusion, resting-state fMRI and ASL were added per vendor in ADNI2 and for nearly all participants in ADNI3. ADNI4 (outside this entry) adds a multi-echo GRE at capable sites, from which SWI is to be derived. PET started with FDG and a small PiB pilot, then used florbetapir for amyloid and, from ADNI3, flortaucipir for tau.
Annotations
There are no voxel-level labels. Mayo Clinic reads the GRE scans for cerebral microbleeds and superficial siderosis and releases each finding with its location (table MAYOADIRL_MRI_MCH). The MRI core reports 641 participants with one or more microbleeds and 57 with superficial siderosis in ADNI GO/2 and ADNI3. Diagnoses, cognitive scores, QC ratings, FreeSurfer volumes and amyloid and tau SUVRs are also released.
Known limitations
- Diagnostic criteria and group names changed between phases (early/late MCI were merged again in ADNI3).
- Scanner upgrades over the years can break longitudinal comparability; the MRI core advises treating data across hardware changes as incompatible.
- Participants are mostly white and highly educated, which limits generalisability; ADNI4 aims to change this.
- Sequences beyond T1, FLAIR and T2* are not available for all participants in ADNI2.
Cohort
Aggregate numbers from the sources below. Bars are relative to the 2,366 subjects.
Contrast / sequence
ScansGroups can overlap
- T2*-weighted 6,752
Table 2 in Jack CR Jr et al. 2024, Overview of ADNI MRI, Alzheimer's & Dementia
Condition
Groups can overlap
- Mild cognitive impairment 1,090 46%
- Healthy control 868 37%
- Cerebral microbleeds 641 27%
- Alzheimer's disease 408 17%
- Superficial siderosis 57 2%
Section 1 (Introduction) in Veitch DP et al. 2023, The ADNI in the era of Alzheimer's disease treatment, Alzheimer's & Dementia; Table 3 in Jack CR Jr et al. 2024, Overview of ADNI MRI, Alzheimer's & Dementia
License and access
Our reading of the license, not legal advice. Before you use the data, read the original license and confirm that your use is allowed. We take no responsibility for how you use a dataset. Full disclaimer
A research proposal is reviewed and approved
ADNI Data Use Agreement
Access for scientific investigation, teaching or planning clinical research after an online application. No redistribution of participant-level data, mandatory ADNI credit in the author line and a review of every manuscript by the ADNI Data and Publications Committee before journal submission. Model training is allowed but the data must not reach third-party AI services that retain inputs.
What you can do
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Conditional
- Yes
- Conditional
What you can share
- No
- Conditional
- Conditional
What you must do
- Yes
- Share alike No
- Yes
- Conditional
- Yes
- Release code No
- Conditional
- Delete after use No
Limits
- Yes
- No
Citation
Add "for the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative*" to the author line and use the methods and funding text given in the ADNI Data Use Agreement. Cohort reference: Petersen RC, et al. Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI): clinical characterization. Neurology 74(3):201-209 (2010). doi:10.1212/WNL.0b013e3181cb3e25
Sources
Every number on this page comes from one of these documents. Each chart names the table or page it is taken from. The raw numbers are in stats.csv.
- Veitch DP et al. 2023, The ADNI in the era of Alzheimer's disease treatment, Alzheimer's & Dementia paper
- ADNI website, About (phases and planned cohorts) website
- ADNI website, MRI protocols by phase website
- Jack CR Jr et al. 2024, Overview of ADNI MRI, Alzheimer's & Dementia paper
- ADNI-3 MRI protocol poster (sequence table) website
- ADNI3 MRI Analysis Manual, version 28 June 2018 website
- ADNIMERGE data dictionary, Jack Lab - ADNI MRI MCH (mayoadirl_mri_mch) website
- Petersen RC et al. 2010, ADNI clinical characterization, Neurology paper